Biomedical Acoustics

Acoustical Society of America

Although relatively small, members with interests in Biomedical Acoustics (formely Biomedical Ultrasound/Bioresponse to Vibration) have been well represented with achievement awards from the Society. While there are many other honorees that could be listed, below are awards that were specifically given in recognition of work within this TC.

Details of the awards selection process are available as a PDF. View PDF.

Gold Medal

The Gold Medal is presented in the Spring to a member of the Society, without age limitation, for contributions to acoustics. The first Gold Medal was presented in 1954, on the occasion of the Society’s Twenty-Fifth Anniversary Celebration, and biennially until 1980.

  • 1998 – Floyd Dunn – For creative contributions to fundamental knowledge of ultrasonic propagation in, and interactions with, biological media.
  • 2002 – Robert E. Apfel – For fundamental contributions to physical acoustics and biomedical ultrasound and for innovative leadership in electronic publishing.
  • 2013 – Lawrence A. Crum – For discovery and invention in physical and biomedical acoustics, and for leadership in acoustics worldwide.

Silver Medal

The Silver Medal is presented to individuals, without age limitation, for contributions to the advancement of science, engineering, or human welfare through the application of acoustic principles or through research accomplishments in acoustics.

Silver Medal in Bioresponse to Vibration

  • 1989 – Floyd Dunn – For contributions to the understanding of the interactions of ultrasound with biological media.

Silver Medal in Biomedical Ultrasound/Bioresponse to Vibration

  • 1999 – Ronald T. Verrillo – For contributions to the psychophysics and physiology of vibrotactile sensitivity.
  • 2004 – James G. Miller – For contributions to ultrasonic tissue characterization and quantitative echocardiography.

Silver Medal in Biomedical Acoustics

  • 2013 – Kullervo H. Hynynen – For contributions to the science and the clinical applications of therapeutic ultrasound.
  • 2021 – William O’Brien – For contributions to ultrasound bioeffects, dosimetry, and quantitative tissue characterization.

Interdisciplinary Silver Medal

Two or more Technical Committees may nominate candidates whose work overlaps more than one technical area. In 1995 this award was designated the Helmholtz-Rayleigh Interdisciplinary (HRI) Silver Medal.

Silver Medal in Physical Acoustics and Bioresponse to Vibration

  • 1990 – Wesley L. Nyborg – For technical contributions in the application of physical acoustics to biology and medicine.

HRI Silver Medal in Physical Acoustics and Biomedical Ultrasound/Bioresponse to Vibration

  • 2000 – Lawrence A. Crum – For advancing the understanding of the physical, chemical, and biological effects of acoustic cavitation and of high-intensity ultrasound.

HRI Silver Medal in Biomedical Ultrasound/Bioresponse to Vibration/Acoustical Oceanography

  • 2006 – Mathias Fink – For contributions to the understanding of time reversal acoustics.

HRI Silver Medal in Biomedical Ultrasound/Bioresponse to Vibration/Physical Acoustics

  • 2007 – Edwin L. Carstensen – For contributions to the physics of biomedical ultrasound.
  • 2010 – Ronald A. Roy – For contributions to the fields of biomedical ultrasound and nonlinear bubble dynamics.

HRI Silver Medal in Biomedical Acoustics, Physcial Acoustics, and Acoustical Oceanography

  • 2013 – Timothy J. Leighton – For contributions to physical acoustics, biomedical ultrasound, sonochemistry, and acoustical oceanography.

R. Bruce Lindsay Award

The R. Bruce Lindsay Award, formerly called the Biennial Award, is presented in the Spring to a member of the Society who is under 35 years of age on 1 January of the year of the Award and who, during a period of two or more years immediately preceding the award, has been active in the affairs of the Society and has contributed substantially, through published papers, to the advancement of theoretical or applied acoustics, or both.

  • 2000 – Robin O. Cleveland – For contributions to nonlinear acoustics, particularly to shock wave lithotripsy.
  • 2004 – Michael R. Bailey – For contributions to the understanding of shock wave lithotripsy and nonlinear acoustics.
  • 2008 – Tyrone M. Porter – For contributions to ultrasound-guided drug delivery.
  • 2012 – Constantin C. Coussios – For contributions to biomedical ultrasonics.
  • 2013 – Eleanor P. J. Stride – For contributions to biomedical application of bubbles.
  • 2015 – Matthew W. Urban – For contributions to the development of diagnostic methods to image soft tissue.
  • 2019 – Adam Maxwell – For contributions to the understanding and application of therapeutic ultrasound.

Frederick V. Hunt Postdoctoral Fellowship

The F. V. Hunt Postdoctoral Research Fellowship was established by the Society to carry out Professor Hunt’s wish that his estate be used to further the science of, and education in acoustics. Fellows receive a stipend, provided jointly by the Hunt estate and a fund established by the Acoustical Society, to support their research on a topic in acoustics at an institution of their choice. One Fellowship is usually awarded each year. Hunt Fellows that have been active within the Biomedical Acoustics Technical Committee include:

  • 1983 – Mark Hamilton
  • 1989 – Carr Everbach
  • 1994 – T. Douglas Mast
  • 1995 – Robin Cleveland
  • 2002 – Constantin C. Coussios
  • 2003 – Tyrone M. Porter
  • 2014 – Jason L. Raymond
  • 2014 – Himanshu Shekhar

David T Blackstock Mentorship Award

The David T Blackstock Mentorship Award (previously known as the Student Council Mentoring Award) is designed to recognize a person who has demonstrated exceptional ability in guiding the academic and/or professional growth of his/her students and junior colleagues. Any ASA member, other than those currently serving on the Student Council, may submit a nomination for this award. Nominees must demonstrate outstanding: (a) research and publication guidance, (b) interpersonal and motivational skills, and (c) promotion of career development.

  • 2006: Professor Lawrence Crum, University of Washington
  • 2009: Professor Christy Holland, University of Cincinnati

Best Student Paper on Biomedical Acoustics

The Biomedical Acoustics Technical Committee sponsors an annual student competition at the spring meeting. Past winners can be found here.